fallback-image
Zur Übersicht

Hugendubel

Joan (Hodder & Stoughton)

22,49 €
22,49 € 22,49 € inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Nicht verfügbar
Nicht verfügbar

Produktbeschreibung

Artikelnummer: 9781399706124
Autor/Verlag: Chen, Katherine J.

368 Seiten
von 2022
Sprache: Englisch
Best.-Nr.875508

A stunning feminist reimagining of the life of Joan of Arc - perfect for fans of Cecily, Ariadne and Matrix

'It is as if the author has crept inside a statue and breathed a soul into it, re-creating Joan of Arc as a woman for our time' Hilary Mantel, twice Booker Prize-winning author of The Mirror & the Light

'A glorious, sweeping novel . . . Richly imagined, poignant and inspiring' Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

'Chen earns the comparison [to Mantel] thanks to her vivid, visceral and boldly immediate storytelling . . . a hypnotic heroine for our time' Telegraph

'Chen's Joan roars off the page. If you liked Ariadne, then this has to be your next read' Red Magazine

'Brilliant . . . Chen [presents] Joan as a beguiling, fully human mix of wariness and confidence, and fiercely protective of those she loves' Guardian

*Times Best Historical Novels of July 2022 Pick*
*The Week Best Novels of 2022 Pick*

***

Girl. Warrior. Heretic. Saint?

France is mired in a losing war against England. Its people are starving. Its king is in hiding. Yet out of the chaos, an unlikely heroine emerges.

Reckless, steel-willed and brilliant, Joan has survived a childhood steeped in both joy and violence to claim an extraordinary - and fragile - position at the head of the French army. The battlefield and the royal court are full of dangers and Joan finds herself under suspicion from all sides - as well as under threat from her own ambition.

With unforgettably vivid characters and propulsive storytelling, Joan is a thrilling epic, a triumph of historical fiction, and a feminist celebration of one remarkable - and remarkably real - woman who left an indelible mark on history.

PRAISE FOR JOAN

'An electrifying creative leap - a re-imagining both viv